## **FAU to Host Honors Convocation**

**BOCA RATON, FL (April 16, 2007)** – Florida Atlantic University President Frank T. Brogan and Provost John Pritchett will host the University's 38<sup>th</sup> annual Honors Convocation on Tuesday, April 17 at 5 p.m. at the University Theater, in the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, on FAU's Boca Raton campus, 777 Glades Road.

The annual ceremony recognizes the University's most outstanding students and faculty. (A full list of honorees is attached.)

Students to be honored include eight university scholars, representing each of FAU's colleges; the Phi Kappa Phi scholars; the Stan and Renee Wimberly Scholar; and the Student Academic Athletes of the Year.

A new award will be given at this year's convocation, the Nancy Blosser Service Award. It's named in honor of Board of Trustee member Nancy Blosser, who has a long record of rendering volunteer service to the University. It will be given to Hank Stern, who was instrumental in helping to launch the Commercial Music Program.

Faculty honors include the presentation of the FAU National Alumni Association's Degree of Difference Award, University Researchers of the Year awards, teaching and advising awards, and the Distinguished Teacher of the Year Award, which is determined by FAU students. The recipient of this award, Dr. Kathryn Keller of the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing, will present the keynote address.

For more information on the Honors Convocation, call 561-297-0884.

-FAU-

# 2007 Florida Atlantic University Honors Convocation Awardees

UNIVERSITY SCHOLARS	5		
College of Architecture, Urba	an and Public Affairs	Deborah Bruce	
Dorothy F. Schmidt College	of Arts and Letters	Kristina Countryman	
Barry Kaye College of Business		Deborah Donaldson	
College of Education		Andrea Schlessel	
College of Engineering and Computer Science		Jaime Fraser	
Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College		Laura Owens	
Christine E. Lynn College of		Joshua Phillips	
Charles E. Schmidt College of	of Science	Natalia Acosta	
<b>DISTINGUISHED STUDE</b>	NT AWARD		
Dorothy F. Schmidt College	of Arts and Letters	Rhonda Graves	
	DC		
PHI KAPPA PHI SCHOLA			
Charles E. Schmidt College of	of Science	Lorraine Fuhrman	
STUDENT ACADEMIC A	THLETES OF THE YEAR		
Megan Coyne and Ryan Kins			
THE UNIVERSITY CLUB	SCHOLAR		
College of Engineering and Computer Science		Christopher Vinci	
THE STAN AND RENEE V	WIMBERLY SCHOLAR		
Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College		Eric Seymour	
NANCY BLOSSER SERVI Henry Stern	CE AWARD		
UNIVERSITY RESEARCH	IERS OF THE YEAR AWA	RDS	
Jie Wu Professor of the Year – Sponsored/Project Oriented, Engineering and Computer Science			
			Allan Barsky

Yoshimi Shibata	Associate Professor of the Year – Sponsored/Project
	Oriented, Biomedical fessor 4EMC /P AMN(idka14BT/TT1nFd)Science

### UNIVERSITY TEACHING AND ADVISING AWARDS 2006-07

### **Undergraduate Teaching Awards**

Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters	Gina Carreno
Barry Kaye College of Business	Patrick Bernet
Barry Kaye College of Business	Eric Chiang
College of Education	Joseph Furner

#### Dr. Kathryn Keller

Kathryn Keller obtained her PhD in Nursing from the University of Miami in 1997. Her first position as a registered Nurse was in the Emergency Department at Jackson Memorial Hospital (JMH) in Miami. Following that experience, she worked in the Surgical ICU at Grady Memorial in Atlanta and then back to JMH to the Coronary Intensive Care Unit where she found her niche. This was the beginning of her interest in electrocardiographic nursing concepts. Eventually she went back to school and obtained her Masters degree in Nursing as a clinical specialist in critical care. Her last position at JMH was as an instructor in